CoinPeople.com

I'm new, got questions

Gump

Hi I'm new to collecting coins, I'm 20 years old and a total newbie at all of this.

I'm just a college student to so I have no money to be a serious collector, just modern US currency.

You probably all think I'm stupid for even bothering, because you all seem like pros to me.

I'm so stupid I even shined all my lincoln pennies with brasso this week, was so proud of the shine, then learned that it killed the value (well....not like they had any).

But basically I've got a few questions.....

1. I don't have any coin shops near me. Is just going to the bank and getting rolls the best I can do? And car wash change machines as another source for quarters?

2. For uncirculated modern coins, if they're taken out of the roll, are they considered no longer uncirculated? Like for instance, if I get a roll of uncirculated Lincoln pennies for each year off of ebay, and open the roll to remove one to put in a book or display, does that mean that the ones in the roll or the one that I placed in display is no longer 'uncirculated'?

3. I've found some circulated state quarters that look so fine under the mag. glass, no knicks, dents, scratches, or anything to the ridges either - they could pass for uncirculated. How can one tell that they aren't? Just by it not being in a roll?

4. When deciding which coin to keep and which to ditch, what are the major things to look for first that diminish value? Scuffs to the face? Horizontal scratches? Crap on the coin? Knicks on the ridges? What reduces its value the most or least?

Thanks so much...I hope I'm accepted here even though I just collect modern US coins for fun!!!

THANKS!

Taking a coin out of an uncirculated roll doesn't make it or the roll circulated. The only thing that will make it circulated is detectable signs of wear from being handled and used.