CoinPeople.com

re-submission to TPG: crack our or leave alone?

Doogy

I got a pretty good deal on a nice Morgan (shown here), but want to get it re-certified by ANACS or NGC. I know they offer crossover grading, where you leave it slabbed and if it meets or exceeds the stated grade, they'll crack it out and re-slab it. Frankly, i'll be happy if this coin meets MS65 by ANACS or NGC, so maybe I should crack it out myself and send it in. I like the coin and want a more legimate grade on it, from a more well known TPG. thoughts?

61665.jpg

61665r.jpg

thanks!

Doug

Crack it out. I believe that would guarantee you a non-biased grade.

NGC or ANACS are good choices, so is PCGS.

The top three TPG's don't body bag coins for dipping. They will for cleaning or surface altering but dipping is widely accepted in todays market. Infact it's running rampant to the disdain of some (myself included).

From the photos your coin looks very nice. I've had no experience with NNC so can't really comment on them other than I know they are not one of the top 3. If I were submitting that coin to PCGS, NGC or ANACS it would definitely be going in raw as I wouldn't want the current plastic to prejudice anyone there (they say this doesn't happen but I still wouldn't take the chance). The slab that it is currently in adds zero premium to the coin. It could quite possibly even take value away as many would be immediately suspicious and avoid the coin.

Cracking it out is a win/win situation. You know for a fact the graders won't be influence by the NNC plastic and if you decide not to slab it and sell it you'll probably get more money with a raw coin, good photos and honest description than you would in the NNC slab.

What ever route you go, let us know when all is said and done :ninja: