CoinPeople.com

Irregular denominations

kassyopeia

Hi all,

Forgive the following somewhat lengthy introduction, but I suspect this is a somewhat unusual topic for this forum, so I'd rather include too much detail than too little. Here goes:

I'm a programmer and active at the XVBT? forum. We just had an interesting discussion about how to choose that combination of "monetary elements" (coins, bills, whatever) which gives a target amount using the minimum number of elements. I'll include an abridged part of the OP to clarify:

[A] C# console program that outputs the set of banknotes that:

1- sums in value to a given integer k

2- contains the smallest number of banknotes

The following types of banknotes are available: 500-note, 200-note, 100-note, 50-note, 20-note, 10-note, 5-note, 1-note

Example: k = 13

Here the correct set is: 1 of 10-note, 3 of 1-note

these 4 banknotes will sum to 13 and 4 is the smallest possible number of banknotes in this case.

<snip>

Yesterday, I gave this a try, and I ended up using the following algorithm:

Always subtract the greatest possible banknote from k, until k is 0.

<snip>

Now, is this algorithm always true regardless of the available types of banknotes? No it's not.

Imagine that the following banknotes are available: 500-note,
280-note
, 200-note, 100-note, 50-note, 20-note, 10-note, 5-note, 1-note

Imagine that k = 560

The algorithm will give us this set: 1 of 500-note, 1 of 50-note, 1 of 10-note

these 3 banknotes will sum to 560 but we could have used the following 2 banknotes: 2 of 280-note

So, subtracting the greatest possible banknote first can be misleading. It seems that it works if and only if no banknote is greater than the half of its preceding banknote when they are sorted in a descending order (correct me if I'm wrong). So, because 280 is greater than 250 (500/2) it doesn't work.

My question: is there an always working algorithm?