CoinPeople.com

Cleaning my coins

Mark Stilson

Picked up a group of uncleaned roman coins. Put together a little electrolysis set up to zap the coins. I tried a few other ways including olive oil before, but decided to try this.

A shot of one of the coins pre zap.

1-2.jpg

Just starting out the tub is pretty clean.

tub2.jpg

After working for awhile.

tub1.jpg

I probably have about a day left on the coin in the picture. I'll post some shots of it tomorrow. I also have another i gave a little shot but have not finished. Hopefully it will finish out tomorrow also.

A few more shots of it as it comes along. I am going to keep an eye on it and may swap it out to finish off in olive oil.

Last nite

17681520.jpg

992c100c.jpg

This morning

f94e1ddd.jpg

311e6388.jpg

I am not an expert in the ancients, but I have not seen any with what appear to be 3 anhk's with balls on the bottom of them before. I will probably wait until its a little cleaner before I try to start ID'ing them. (Be able to read the writing a little better)