CoinPeople.com

new member from uk

hi all!

i am a total beginner and at the stage of reading as many books as i can

and of course joining these forums!

i am leaning towards collecting english hammered coins but dont want to jump in w/o more knowledge.........

coz that could cost me a lot of ££££££££££

are there many english hammered collectors/dealers in the us?

any advice or help would be gratefully received

cheers dave

Welcome Dave,

I collect mainly British coins. Most tend to be milled, but I have got a couple of hammered.

I can see why you would wish to collect them. My advice would be to buy from reputable dealers or slabbed/graded if buying from eBay especially to begin with as you don't want to get your fingers burned early on and decide to quit collecting coins.

The grades on slabbed coins especially hammered are often open to debate so don't rely solely on the grade given on the slab. After a while you will be able to roughly grade coins yourself, again grading hammered as apposed to milled is a whole different ball game.

Welcome aboard :ninja:

Yes there are English hammered collectors in the USA, I started with English hammered, and still have quite a few of them, but I then graduated to Scottish hammered which can be seen on my website linked below. I am just too lazy to put the English hammered on the site, and in fact, I haven't even looked at the English coins in years.

• 1 month later...

Welcome to the site! I'm in UK myself and a hammered English collector. I sometimes find useful articles on this site, alas! few and far between. But then, The other sites I visit have a scarcety of the subject, too! Best trawl a number of sites searching for the odd crumb!

This is a good site to air your discoveries and ask advice, though, as a number of regulars collect hammered as well as the prevelent US milled. Enjoy! :ninja:

Welcome to Coinpeople Deelcee,