CoinPeople.com

1726 ruble. I need your opinion.

BKB

I received my long awaited (interesting variety) 1726 ruble. It has the most curious edge. Should be edge #6 \\\\\\\, but instead, it looks like this: ||||||

17261ryx2.jpg

I do not believe that it is possible to tell whether this coin is a fake or real from the pictures, for it was heavily tooled at some point of time. But I would appreciate any opinion on the subject. The coin is stamped, not cast or galvano. (90 degree angles are present, ring is fine, metal cracks, etc.) It does not have a new feel. I guess, my question is: Did anyone ever see an edge like this on a Catherine I ruble? I would so very much hate it, should this coin turn out to be a fake, but I would rather get to the bottom of it when I can still return it.

Thank you for your input. Karl.

Of course I'm not an expert, but the coin doesn't look like any of the Uzdenikov types for 1726. In particular, the portrait of Catherine seems too pudgy. The coin in Uzd. shows a pupil in the eye I think, but there is none on your coin; the curlyque on the on the bottom of the letter "tz" in "Imperitritza" seems to go the wrong way based on Uzd. Her cheek jowl seems to have a longer outline in Uzd. than your coin. Her expression just seems a bit bloated compared to the Group V-B picture in Uzd. Plus, Uzd. says the edge either slants to the left or right, not straight across. Bitkin might be a better reference, but I don't have it.

Marv

Did anyone ever see an edge like this on a Catherine I ruble? I would so very much hate it, should this coin turn out to be a fake, but I would rather get to the bottom of it when I can still return it.

I can't recall seeing such a coin but that might not mean much.

Is there a chance that the coin might be overstruck on a foreign thaler and this is the edge of the undertype? If memory is correct, SPB mint was still doing this at the time.