CoinPeople.com

New Collector: Collecting Banknote of 1

trippy982

Hello all,

I'm new to Banknote collecting and would love to collect every single "1" currency banknote for each country in the world. I know some countries don't have a "1" currency which I will skip for now, and once I finished collecting the "1" currencies I would move up to the next number, 2, 5, 10 etc...

My question is how do I start? Or purchase cheaply. For now I would probably want to collecting from countries who have "1" currencies in circulation (like USA 1 dollar, China 1 Juan) to keep cost down. Also how do I find out which countries still have "1" in circulation as some countries haven't printed 1 currencies in decades.

Is this type of collection possible?

Thanks

Welcome to Coinpeople.

Your collection is quite possible. Once you have been here for 30 days and made 25 posts, you can buy, sell and trade here at coinpeople. That is one way you might be able to get banknotes in the denominations you are looking for.

Another way is to look at online auctions, like Ebay. I have had good luck with it, but you do need to be careful with some sellers though.....

A third way is to keep an eye out for coin shows, and even antiques shows..... Sometimes you can get lots of good stuff there as well.....

Such a collection is definately possible. It can be easy or hard depending on the guidelines you set to determine what you'd like to have included.

Some examples of what to collect could include:

- only currently used notes.

- only notes which are for 1 "unit" (ie. 1 yuan and not 1 jiao or 1 fen)

- 1 per country regardless of when the date of issue was

There are so many possibilities! :ninja:

There are no starter kits that I know of. Currency exchange centers usually don't carry anything but the larger bills from a 5 and up. Most of the time they try passing off 50's to people and most places in other countries don't accept them.