CoinPeople.com

A questionable Ioann III rouble

grivna1726

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...em=230058415867

This coin is supposedly one of the few surviving examples of the Ioann III rouble made from 6,000 edged but blank flans hanging around the SPB mint at the time of Anna's death in 1740.

GM lists 2 die variations (GM-17 & GM-18) of this rouble with Anna's edge, neither of which appear to match the coin offered.

This coin is supposedly one of the few surviving examples of the Ioann III rouble made from 6,000 edged but blank flans hanging around the SPB mint at the time of Anna's death in 1740.

GM lists 2 die variations (GM-17 & GM-18) of this rouble with Anna's edge, neither of which appear to match the coin offered.

This coin is a fake. I think it is the third one of this type on Ebay in recent memory.

I am new at this, so please forgive my ignorance. What is GM?

AK

AK

GM refers to the series of volumes published by Grand Duke Georgii Mikhailovich prior to the 1917 Revolution. These cover, on a ruler-by-ruler basis, the coins from 1682–1710 and 1725–1891. It was not finished due to World War I. The original edition in Russian also contains many documents concerning coinage.

Most collectors, due to the high cost of obtaining original volumes, opt for the Quarterman one-volume reprint of the 1916 French language edition. This work lists the coins and prints the plates but does not have the documents.

RWJ

AK

"GM" is the Grand Duke's corpus of Russian coins ("Собрание русских монет Великого князя Георгия Михайловича"). It is an outstanding work which has never been surpassed and forms the basis for many later works. "G.M." is his initials (for George Mihailovich).

In comparing the above rouble with the following:

http://cgi.ebay.com/1741-SILVER-IVAN-III-R...1QQcmdZViewItem

the two pieces appear to be struck from the same dies. Anyone else share this view?

RWJ

Yes, it looks that way to me also.

The seller's handle seems familiar.