CoinPeople.com

Banknote Detective Work - Pathology

MMMM

I’m not an expert, but here’s what I know from experience and reading elsewhere:

If I suspect a note, I usually check using simple visual inspection techniques. While one indication is often enough to make a decision, often times you need an aggregate of indications to tell if it’s been doctored.

Looking at the note under incandescent light and also with fluorescent and natural lights are all fine, and I haven’t found anything that wasn’t detectable under any of the light sources.

I look at the notes front and reverse as it lies on a table top. If the note has a noticeable crease, but lies flat, then there might be more to the story.

I hold the note up to the light source and view front and back this way. Often times you can see tell-tell signs that indicate creases and folds that were once more noticeable. Viewing the reverse of many notes this way seems to reveal more than the front for some reason.

Run your fingers lightly over the design. On most notes there will be some embossing from the ink or in some cases even paper embossing. Newer notes from several countries will have the raised ink or dots to aid the blind. If these are not raised, or seem less than they should be, it could be an indication that it’s been pressed.

Pressed between pages of heavy books will cause the embossing to decrease while removing some slight bends. Notes pressed with an Iron will sometimes have a discoloration to the paper as well. I’ve read about others ironing a note under a damp cloth to avoid this, but have no idea how it works out. Heavy bends or creases usually show up when viewed against a light no matter the method used.