CoinPeople.com

Counterfeits

Bangbang

I am a newbie and have found world and ancient coins more interesting than USA coins. However...... I don't know how to recognize a fake yet. How can I get to recognise a fake coin and are their safer coins for a newbie to collect from other countries till I learn to recognise the fakes? Who should I purchase them from? Do dealers sell fakes? I live in Walled Lake Michigan and am looking for dealers that I can trust. Help!

You know, that's a very big question. I guess the very first thing is to define what you want to collect. Again that's going to be another big question. One very very very, and I cannot help to insist on this point is when you try to get hold of silver coins that you may think it's a good deal.

Examples like the early American silver dollars like the 1804 dollar coins and quite a fair bit of early Asian coins that are counterfeit aren't minted in silver but some other metal. By color alone you can tell the differences between a genuine one and a counterfeit one.

Of course there are many other ways to tell, such as looking at the fine details of a coin and mass, which can possibly help you out.

Well that is a very brief and generic thing I typed out... I hope someone else will be able to point you in a better direction. :ninja:

Knowledge of the coins you wish to collect is your best defense - you have to become familiar with them. Know the designs, the weight, size, proper dates & legends - all of this and more. There are also books on counterfeit coins.

There are plenty of trustworthy dealers - but which one depends on what you are looking for.

Living in Walled Lake, you are in luck! Michigan is a center for numismatics. Locals in your area have been ANA president and board members. You have more dealers in a one hour drive along 275-I75-696-I96 and over to US-23/I-94 than most other people do in eight hours across three states.