CoinPeople.com

Collecting Ancient Coins - Advice

Mat25

Hello,

I have recently been coming across a few ancient coins on ebay and on other numismatic websites.

I would love to start collecting these coins but I have zero knowledge in this area as I am, so far, just a British coin collector.

I could do with someone to take me under their wing and be my guide to ancient coins but in the absence of that I was hoping someone could help me out with some advice and also answer the following questions.....

Where on the internet can you buy ancients at reasonable prices? Any websites or good ebay sellers?

How do you spot a fake?

Which books do I buy? I would like to start with ancient Greek silver coins (Drachms and tetradrachms), Roman sestertius (and other larger coins)

What proportion of the ancients on ebay are fake?

Are there any good online guides that won't take the next 3 decades to read?

Any help would be hugely appreciated! :confus:

That is probably a wise move however curiosity and my liking for the design of these coins has got the better of me!

I would mind a couple of US coins though, quite like the Morgans and some of the old cents.

Hello,

I have recently been coming across a few ancient coins on ebay and on other numismatic websites.

I would love to start collecting these coins but I have zero knowledge in this area as I am, so far, just a British coin collector.

I could do with someone to take me under their wing and be my guide to ancient coins but in the absence of that I was hoping someone could help me out with some advice and also answer the following questions.....

Where on the internet can you buy ancients at reasonable prices? Any websites or good ebay sellers?

Which books do I buy? I would like to start with ancient Greek silver coins (Drachms and tetradrachms), Roman sestertius (and other larger coins)

What proportion of the ancients on ebay are fake?

Are there any good online guides that won't take the next 3 decades to read?