CoinPeople.com

Edward VI shilling or six-pence ??

christopher

Good day,

I'm having trouble trying to acurately discribe this coin (among others). I'm new to British coins as these are from my father's collection and he is at the stage of life where he remembers very few things. It has fallen upon me to dispose of his collections. But, enough of that.

From the legends on the coin, I've only found six-pence that are written - with the wording broken as such - this way and the Spink number associated is 2483. It appears to have a small crown and be of 'third period'. All this comes from comparison with other, similar coins. I haven't found any with the diameter given (this one is 32mm), but the part that is driving me to distraction is that it weighs 6 gm. I admit, I only have a moderately accurate scale, but it can definitely tell between 3 gm and 6 gm.

Would someone please share an opinion or point me in the direction of a definitive source for identifying British coins? And if the source had reference to Irish and Scotish coins, that would be of trememdous help - for things like a Robert II AR penny, etc.

(Sorry if this all sounds disjointed, but I'm in uncharted territory here)

edvi_obv.JPG

edvi_rev.JPG

The easy identifier is the roman numerals XII.

XII (12) pence = shilling

The weight would also be approximately right for a shilling.

Hello ccg,

Thank you. Yes, I see it is hidden in plain sight where the less-than-knowledgable would miss it. It looks like I've a very long way to go to get up to speed. You help is much appreciated.

Do you know of some reading I might find that would clue me in regarding the sizes and the basics of the various coinage?

Season's Best,

Chris

The Spink catalogue would be the first book to get in my opinion, especially as all the pictures in there are actual size. You can also pick up quite a lot of other info.