CoinPeople.com

Funny looking Paul's re-overstrike 1793 2 kopeks

IgorS

I agree it has a less than authentic look to it.

but isnt this an awfully obscure (and not very attractive) rarity, for someone to go to the trouble of reproducing as a counterfeit?

Not at all. Paul's 2K overstrikes of Catherine's 4K Ciphers start at a couple of hundred dollars and often show little undercoin. Such a spectacularly visible undercoin like this would likely push value to closer to $1000. It may be well worth counterfeiting.

Steve

Igor, by "funny looking" do you mean "unusual" or "fake"?

I'm no expert in the various overstriking programs, but I doubt this thing is real.

I was thinking fake as well.

And I agree with Steve, they are worth making with such great undercoin details.

I am not quite too sure what to say on this. On first glance it looks like it has the characteristics of an overstrike but as mentioned, the elements look unusually crude. I cannot quite tell if this is due to the pressure from the overstrike and corrosion or it's just a counterfeit. There seems to be another layer underneath but the details are quite blur to make any proper analysis.

I am guessing it's a matter of time that there are more overstruck counterfeits popping up - a 1793/96 4 kopek over 2 kopek is actually quite scarce compared to a 1793/1796 10 kopek over 5 kopek. Basok has an example for both of them and price difference is usually at least twice as much from what I have seen, and even better depending on the underlying image and overall condition.

I am not quite too sure what to say on this. On first glance it looks like it has the characteristics of an overstrike but as mentioned, the elements look unusually crude. I cannot quite tell if this is due to the pressure from the overstrike and corrosion or it's just a counterfeit. There seems to be another layer underneath but the details are quite blur to make any proper analysis.