CoinPeople.com

Would these be considered Die Cracks or Die Gouges?

Hello,

I'm still new to the world of coin collecting. I was searching through a box of Canadian Pennies and I found these two coins (both US Lincolns). I was wondering if they would be Die Cracks or Die Gouges...or something else all together. I tried to take the pics through a 45X microscope loupe...I hope the quality is OK.

1983 Lincoln Cent top right corner of building. I'm not sure if the the crack continues along the last column or not:

diecrack01.jpg

This 1983 Lincoln has two different errors. Top left corner of building:

diecrack02.jpg

and bottom left corner of steps:

diecrack02B.jpg

Any info on if they would be considered crack or gouges would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Tim - cladhunter13

They look like die cracks to me. Always fun to find. :ninja:

Thank you for the response. Would you be able to recommend any online material for reading up on die cracks and gouges? I have checked: Online error coin refrence guide by Matt Dinger (Lost Dutchman) on these forums. Very helpful for many different errors but not for die cracks or gouges. Also...do die cracks offer any premium to a coins value?

Thank you again for the response and any other info.

Tim - cladhunter13

http://www.coppercoins.com is always a good place to start.

Some can carry a premium, but unless it's a spectacular die crack, it will not be much. There are no die crack or die gouge guides that I know of, just error and coin information sites that will help you on your way. Also Walter Breen's guides are useful when talking about die variation.

http://www.coppercoins.com is always a good place to start.

Some can carry a premium, but unless it's a spectacular die crack, it will not be much. There are no die crack or die gouge guides that I know of, just error and coin information sites that will help you on your way. Also Walter Breen's guides are useful when talking about die variation.