CoinPeople.com

90 percent off cent lincoln cent ?????????

darrell

what can yall tell me about this please help http://profiles.yahoo.com/mstrgames69

Sounds from your title that you know what it is. I have been collecting memorial cent "off centers" for several years. Here are some summary opinion points.

Dated off-centers bring a higher premium than non-dated. The best dated ones also include the mintmark or mintmark area, so you have an unequivocal ID (noted that certain coins, e.g. State Quarters can be dated without the dates being present).

Contrary to what might be intuitive, the greater the degree of offset does *not* translate directly into a higher premium. That is, a 50-60% offset is usually more desireable than a 90%. A possible exception is when the only struck area includes the date.

It's probably best to refer to these as off-centered broadstrikes as long as some design features are missing. I have seen and own some slightly off-centered errors that result from some kind of collar problem but are not quite the same thing.

As far as premiums...a quick check of online auctions and coin shops will give you some estimates. The coin you pictured, in my opinion, could be purchased for $5-$10 US.

Certain dates of memorial cents command a very large premium (try finding a 1969-P or a 60% OC 2005, for example) while others are plentiful (1999-2000 particularly).

They are great errors that I have always liked - the cheap ones make great inexpensive gifts.

$5-$10 is about right. Most of the ones without a date fall into that range unless they are obviously older (like wheat cents), those bring more.

Now if it had a date that's a different story. I see dated ones going for $15 at times, even more!

Now if it had a date that's a different story. I see dated ones going for $15 at times, even more!