Jump to content

Rhodesia Banknote Catalogue.

Guest Aidan Work

Recommended Posts

Guest Aidan Work

Name; Colony of Rhodesia.


Region; British Africa.


Constitutional status at time of issue; British colony.


Capital; Salisbury.


Date of Independence; 11.11.1965.This is the date that Rhodesia's Prime Minister declared Rhodesia to be an independent Dominion under the terms of the Unilateral Declaration of Independence.This was condemned jointly by the British Government,the British Commonwealth,& the United Nations.The Governor of Rhodesia,Sir Humphrey Gibbs was kept in office,but Ian Smith appointed Clifford Dupont as 'Officer Administering the Government'.Declared a Republic,2.3.1970,

but this was never recognised.Clifford Dupont was installed as 'President of the Republic of Rhodesia'.The title of the signatory on the Rhodesian notes was 'Governor'.


Currency systems - 12 Pence = 1 Shilling,20 Shillings = 1 Pound.

- 100 Cents = 1 Dollar (from 17.2.1970).



British Colony;




P26. 1964 5 Pounds. N.H.R. Bruce.



Self-declared Dominion;


Pre-decimal currency;


P27a. 1968 10 Shillings. N.H.R. Bruce.



P28a. 1968 1 Pound. N.H.R. Bruce.



Decimal currency;


P30a. 1970 1 Dollar. N.H.R. Bruce.

17.2.1970 (Decimal Changeover Day)


Self-declared Republic;


P31c. 1979 2 Dollars. D. Crough.



P32b. 1978 5 Dollars. D. Crough.



P33c. 1979 10 Dollars. D. Crough.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...