CoinPeople.com

New member intro

worldcoinguy

I am new to the coinpeople site, and I wanted to say hello. gxseries mentioned this Russian forum in a different site, and I thought I would check it out. I collect mainly Russian 19th and 20th century roubles (that is.....what I can afford), and I also have an interest in the early German States material. I think I can learn quite a bit from this forum and hopefully contribute also.

I will share my favorite rouble while I am at it.  I like the patina in particular on this one.

Welcome to coinpeople, worldcoinguy! :lol:

I think you will find the people here very pleasant and the experience rewarding!

That's a stunning rouble, BTW! :ninja: May I ask what the other main areas of interest are that you collect? (After all, your moniker is "worldcoinguy"...)

This one is overstruck on a ruble of Peter III. You can see traces of his cuirass and collar under Catherine's portrait.

[illustration of a 1763 MMD rouble.]

Congratulations on owning a very rare coin in high grade. Over the past several years I have been gathering photos of roubles from 1757 through 1796 and now have exactly 2600 different. The 1763 Moscow issue has shown up just 11 times, which compares nicely to the 1763 St. Petersburg count at 106 and the 1764 St. Petersburg number of 186. Your piece, by the way, came from the World Wide Coins of California sale 12 (November 1987).

RWJ

This one is overstruck on a ruble of Peter III. You can see traces of his cuirass and collar under Catherine's portrait.

[illustration of a 1763 MMD rouble.]