Jump to content

New dollar coins to feature dead presidents


Recommended Posts

December 14, 2005


WASHINGTON -- New dollar coins featuring all 37 of the nation's dead presidents will begin rolling out of the U.S. Mint in 2007 under a bill Congress is sending to President Bush.


Lawmakers hope the coins -- and an accompanying $10 gold piece for collectors featuring former first ladies -- will be a big money raiser for the government like the 50-state quarter program. They also hope the dollar pieces will rev up interest in the Sacagawea dollars, which have been little-used.


''The dollar coin is a valuable educational tool -- much like the 50-state quarter series -- that will help inspire interest in the history of the leaders of our country,'' Sen. John Sununu (R-N.H.), the sponsor of the legislation, said in a statement.


As of now, there would be 38 coins issued for the 37 presidents -- Grover Cleveland served two nonconsecutive terms and would be on two coins.


The front of the coins would depict former presidents, but not those who are living or have been dead for less than two years, and the backs would show the Statue of Liberty. Four coins a year would be issued, beginning in 2007, in the presidents' order of service.


The Sacagawea coin was introduced in 2000 but never caught on with the public.






Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...