Pop Quiz Hot Shots

LostDutchman

AT or NT  

24 members have voted

1. 1. AT or NT

• AT
    • NT
    • Who Cares?

Yellow on obverse- there's toning, but not much. Makes me suspect that it might be some sort of heat/chemical job. NT pieces I've seen that are nearly all white on one side have toning as a cresent, rather than isolated spots.

Reverse- bright purple on eagle seems to be unusual.

Guest Stujoe

Honesty, it is a shot in the dark for me on this one. I am far from a toning expert but these are the type ramblings I go through when looking at a toned coin...

I don't like the color of some of the toning (esp the Pink) but nothing stands out as totally unbelievable or that which I have not seen slabbed before. Sequence of color seems mostly right and it seems to be everywhere it should be but I don't like the very dark areas with no fading into other colors. I see a little spotting that could be from chemical pooling but it could not be too.

Obverse looks natural. :ninja:

When in doubt, I err on the safe side and QT it. ;)

If you really force me to put an answer to this, here is my opinion and it is theory based. I am not going to claim every single element of it is true.

Suppose if this 1884 Morgon dollar coin is blasting white originally with hints of toning on the edge of the coin, that is what I would be happy to call initial stages of toning as no matter how hard you try to prevent toning to happen, toning often has a tendency to start on the edges first or areas that has been affected by some chemicals. Naturally such a prestigious coin would only be handled by the edges and hence, more "unnatural" chemicals on the edges.