CoinPeople.com

Greetings from a new member!

Hello. My name is Josh, and I'm very happy to be here. Although I'm fairly new to coins & collecting, I have been into copper bullion for a few years, and also collect copper decorations. Living in Arizona, it was hard to ignor copper everywhere I looked. Now, back living in MN, I'm considering coin collecting for a few reasons. First of all, I have two young girls who are expressing interest in collecting. I figured coins would be an affordable, easy family activity to get involved with. I admire coins as well as the history behind them, and think this could be something which appeals to us all. I look forward to being a part of this online community, learning everything I can about coins, and building a family collection of our own.

Josh

Something else I thought I would add :

When I was a kid,,, my Grandmother gave my Dad a little box. She gave him one every birthday. Eventually I asked my Dad what exactly these were, to discover they were nothing but an annual U.S. Proof Set. Pretty cool. I followed my Dad to his closet where he carried the little box. He showed me where tucked in the back of his closet was a proof set from every year since he was born in 1947! He literally had taken each box and stacked it on the last one right in that spot since the house was built in 1972. This memory probably comes from about the late 80's to early 90's. My Dad also showed me his penny collection. He had the standard cardboard cutouts with a bunch of pennies from various years. Of course many were missing, but I always thought the steel pennies of his were especially neat.