CoinPeople.com

Thinking of building coin-collecting software. Should I?

dryice82

I’ve been a coin collector for most of my life, and I’m also a programmer. I think I can build a free tool for collection management that’s better than what currently exists, but I’m trying to decide if it would be worth my time to do so (I don’t want to spend a few months building something that only I would use).

My girlfriend (she’s a programmer too) and I put together a short video of what I’d like to build. The video is at 43copper.com. I’m interested in finding out whether or not a free, full-featured coin management system would be something people would use, and also what features would be the most important to build into it.

Any feedback, thoughts, ideas, and advice would be appreciated. If it seems like there’s enough interest in the idea (based on feedback here on CP, conversations with collectors I’ve been reaching out to, and people signing up for an email list at 43copper.com), I’ll get to work.

Thanks so much,

Jack

I like the presentation and I am looking forward to more...

Each coin would be coded into this program by the collector using country / area of circulation, date, face value / name, grade... would this be a version of numista or would it have other functionalities like to let me know there is an ebay auction with a coin I am looking for?

The video presentation is certaily top notch. One thing you have to decid is US only or other as well. It would make sense to just to US to start and then branch out reusing the same patterns. For me to use something new I'd need the following:

Formatting of the pictures I upload (standard size obverse/reverse with an ability to zoom)

Data kept in the cloud (web and mobile access)

Easy to add data

Pricing data available in the tool

Availability of the standard numismatic information (size, composition, designer, description etc.)

Checklist, Want List creation