CoinPeople.com

1796 Denga Novodel (?)

extant4cell

Your opinion on this coin please. I compared it to two known novodels, very close, but not 100%, including the edge (I didn't see novodels with reeded edge). Unfortunately, I am not an expert in novodels, so would welcome your input. Here is the picture:

aR29mg8Z3SPyA6pkeKp5f2YdDZz74s.jpg

Tough call. Stylistically it looks fine...though it doesn't match exactly examples from sales such as Fuchs or Brand IV. However there are a number of different versions of this Novodel (and some just outright weak fakes) If it's Edge-1 (is that what you mean by reeded?) then that may not be a problem. Edge looks a little coarse. Brekke says those edges were hand cut...so maybe.

I don't see the obverse scratches on other examples and that's bothersome. Overall, the feel is OK (to me) but it would have to be fairly cheap to compensate for these questions. Sales history would help.

I *might* take the risk with spare money but not make a big investment. And then again I might not.

My 2c

Yes, that's what I meant by reeded edge (sort of chopped on a side :) ) ... I didn't know there were Novodel Denga's of this year with this edge around. I couldn't find reference to this type of edge. But just managed to find one: http://www.m-dv.ru/m...ges-prohod.html How much would you risk on this one? What would you find to be reasonable amount. Mind that seller sells it as Novodel.