CoinPeople.com

How can a coin be graded as MS 70 when it has an obvious flaw?

Ray Lane

I've just started collecting one MS 70 coin each month as an investment but I am very new to numismatics and don't know much about it yet.

I was very excited when my first coin arrived and sat studying it for ages. I have a x15 magnifier, which I use in my job, so I had a much closer look at it. I noticed that there was a very definite flaw in one of the T's in 'STATES'!

From what I have learnt so far MS 70 coins are supposed to be the best you can get and they have been independently checked by three grader's before they can be classed as MS 70.

Is this common or is it just me being paranoid? :shock:

May I ask which grading company it came from? Some do stand behind their grades by offering replacement value for any incorrectly graded pieces. And there are some companies whose standards are not so strict...

Graders grade the coins, but practically nobody grades the graders. There are a few of us purist collectors that live by the "buy the coin, not the holder" axiom because the coin is what is the factor - not the plastic tomb that someone puts them in. I can cite examples of clear instances of overgrading, undergrading etc because sometimes it is not so much what the coin is, but who submitted it that factors in the grade given. And that is all I will say.

Thank you for all your comments.

The grading company is NGC. The flaw I have found can actually be seen without magnification once you know where it is! I have posted photos of my coins so far but the quality is very poor until I get a better camera.

As I said I am very new to this and I have to admit, for my sins, I am not really a purist but am buying MS 70's for the investment value.

buying MS 70's for the investment value.