CoinPeople.com

New advice...Grading

Barkoff

Good day.

I am new to coin collecting and found a new interest after inheriting my father's collection. In an effort to get started I recently read "Coin Collecting For Dummies". In this book the author recommends having graded all your coins over the worth of $200.

My father's collection has some double eagles, eagles, half eagles and quarter eagles, all most likey reach or exceed a $200 limit.

Do most collectors here follow said advice?

Thank you.

Indianeagle.jpg

In my opinion you should purchase the red book, get an understanding for what the coin is worth. it tells you what to look for in common grades, and gives you the price. you can also use NGC's website to see how much of a price difference there is if you get it graded. Sometimes the cost to get it graded will cut out any potential profit you can make. If you are not planning on selling them you can just buy coin flips at ebay and enjoy the collection. It is honestly preference. Example sending in a modern penny probably not worth it. Sending in a 1916 D mercury dime in good condition is probably worth it.

Just last week at the Central States Numismatic Convention I was talking to one dealer and I asked them about 1916 standing liberty quarters. He had bought one VG details G cleaned graded by ANACS. He thought he paid well for it but couldn't sell it. He sent it in to PCGS and it came back F-12.