CoinPeople.com

new to buying gold coins

zultar

I'm fairly new to buying US gold coins. I want to eventually have one of almost each US coin minted, except for the stella of course! (and maybe some capped/drapped bust. And I may buy a few lots of ten for investment purposes. I dont care too much on grade as long as the are AU or better. That being said whats the cheapest/best way to buy? will I find good deals at regional coin shows (Texas), buying from dealers? or biggest question would be buying bulk from places like APMEX? I already bought 10 $10 indian heads last year.

Well, if you are just buying for bullion as an investment, you'd probably be better off with modern gold bullion coins, like American eagles or Canadian maple leaf coins since the premiums are much smaller. If you are looking to actually start collecting the coins, then you should do everything you can to learn about them first, to avoid the rookie mistakes that can cost you money. I remember when I first started getting back into collecting I wanted to buy a Saint-Gaudens $20 gold piece, a life long dream, so I went to an online auction and paid about $450 for a 1924 in MS-62 which at the time was a rediculous price! Gold was only $260 an ounce and these coins were selling in retail shops for $350-400. But I learned quickly and avoided costly mistakes again, but it was a process with a lot of questions, like "Why are these mintmarked coins in the 1920s so darn expensive when their mintages are so high?" You can learn a lot from forums like this, or from books. Whitman has some nice guides for gold coins by Q. David Bowers, and if you are interested in the Indian series or Saints, I highly recommend "20th Century United States Gold Coins" by David Akers, now in its second edition so it should be somewhat easier to find.