CoinPeople.com

I don't think this is accurate....

nicholasz219

I was looking through ebay tonight and saw this listing.

eBay link (corrected)

I see normal wear on both sides and pitting on the obverse. On the reverse, above the tail of St. George's horse, I see some shadowy marks that may be part of a strike, but I can not be certain.

I am not that familiar with the overstuck coinages and am looking for some advice on how to properly identify these pieces and what the price range should be.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Nicholasz219

I see normal wear on both sides

Its description is accurate and it is from "Cloud" kopek :)

Its description is accurate and it is from "Cloud" kopek :)

I probably should have prefaced this with, "I guess I do not know what I should be looking for in order to determine what is a legitimate overstrike." I am completely new to the series type and would like to learn more about these coins.

Thanks for the clarification gentlemen. I was not trying to disparage the listing. It just symbolized what I have difficulty understanding.

Thanks,

nicholasz219

The key to understanding overstrikes is to see a lot of examples, own a few, look at it till you get so sick of it. What is different from a normal coin opposed to an overstruck coin is that with an overstruck coin, what is supposed to be plain field has "unusual patterns" behind it.

For example this:

911549.jpg

You can see that it was an 1728 kopek originally:

903395.jpg

How did I determine it? The massive cross sign and the letter "moscow".

Since all coins are struck with different pressures, angles, location of how the original coin was put in, all overstruck coins are virtually unique. This also means that the price varies to a huge magnitude, it's nearly impossible to quote any figure. I can give you a rough example -

For example

1763-1767 5,2,1 kopek overstruck 1762 10,5,2 kopek 20+