CoinPeople.com

Are You An Engineer?

hiho

Are You An Engineer?  

23 members have voted

1. 1. Are You An Engineer?

• I am (was) an engineer
    • I am not an engineer

Lately I have noticed that quite a few coin collectors at the coin forums I frequent (NGC, Coin People and Coin Talk) make their living as engineers.

Maybe it's because we have a little extra money to indulge in this hobby. Not as much as a doctor, lawyer or investment banker, but a little more than most people. Maybe it's because we appreciate the process of minting a coin. Who knows?

Simple poll, either you are an engineer or you are not. Retired engineers count.

Please vote! And for the record I am an engineer, 35 years in recording studios and 3 in television.

Yep. Got my B.S. in Materials Science & Engineering (I prefer to call it Materials Engineering) in 2008 and I'm currently getting an M.S. in Nuclear Engineering.

A little thing called the Great Recession has kept me from breaking into the industry but I do have an interview on Monday with one of the big defense contractors for a nuclear materials position!

Maybe it's because we have a little extra money to indulge in this hobby. Not as much as a doctor, lawyer or investment banker, but a little more than most people. Maybe it's because we appreciate the process of minting a coin. Who knows?

I'm a very tactile person. I love the feel and touch of things. Now, I don't molest my coins, but I do appreciate their weight, the coldness, the reeds, the wear, the idea of circulating through history, etc. I collect via series - all dates and mints (and ideally dies) - bbecause of the structure of the challenge. I also appreciate the metals and the minting process. So, yes, the engineer in me is easily interested in this hobby.

Otherwise, yes, our incomes do make us suitable for coin collecting but we all crave mental stimulation 24/7. Coins stimulate my brain in many ways.