CoinPeople.com

Lets Make A Morgan Set.

tmoneyeagles

• 3 weeks later...
I'd like you to explain that one to me.... :ninja:

When you can send the same coin to even the big 3 TPG's (And this has happened plenty of times) and have it come back a different grade each time, it's a joke and a waste. Grading is subjective even amongst experts. It's absolutely foolish to go by the grade on a slab, buy the coin, not the tomb.

Secondly, why spend $30 or more to slab a $50 dollar (say a MS-64 common date Morgan) coin when you surely will not get your money back? I say this because most of your prompts Tmoney are about earning cash on eBay. The fact is you can in some instances, but it doesn't always work that work that way and you can incur seriously losses just as easy as gains.

I've been collecting for well over 18 years and I am sickened by the way slabbing has corrupted the coin market. There are countless lesser known slabbing companies that slab anything with a grade of MS-65 or even MS-70, and the coin doesn't even need to be an UNC. Maybe it takes time to learn to loathe these companies and their ruse among collectors, but I've seen their results from both ends of feast and famine.

Nope, would have started it if I had them. I have very few tpg coins. About 8 total tpg morgans.

I just realized this is a thread for slabbed coins. Now I see what you mean.

When you can send the same coin to even the big 3 TPG's (And this has happened plenty of times) and have it come back a different grade each time, it's a joke and a waste. Grading is subjective even amongst experts. It's absolutely foolish to go by the grade on a slab, buy the coin, not the tomb.