CoinPeople.com

1768 altered date rouble

RW Julian

The following offering on eBay has an altered date:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...em=190300637606

The correct date is 1763, 1764, or 1765. The seller was notified but he claims

that the date has not been changed. The 1780 rouble sold by this seller also

has an altered date but it appears to have been originally 1780 and merely

re-engraved to make the date look better.

RWJ

Hi RWJ,

I am not an expert on altered coins, however, I do have and read, and refer to, the ANA course book on detecting counterfeit coins.

I really can't detect the alterations as such. Can you provide the PUPs?

I do agree that this coin does have the wrong date for a 67.2a coin.

Regardless of any alterations, where did the reverse design come from? What I call eplets, running from the bases of the neck to the Eagle's shoulders, does not fit the design of a 67.2a coin. It does, however, resemble the eplets on the 192.2 and the 197 design, (minus the two small flanking crowns), although these eplets start in the middle of the neck.

If this is a genuine piece, it sure is one heck of a mule or contemporary forgery using discarded dies?

Mud

Hi RWJ,

I am not an expert on altered coins, however, I do have and read, and refer to, the ANA course book on detecting counterfeit coins.

I really can't detect the alterations as such. Can you provide the PUPs?

I do agree that this coin does have the wrong date for a 67.2a coin.

Regardless of any alterations, where did the reverse design come from? What I call eplets, running from the bases of the neck to the Eagle's shoulders, does not fit the design of a 67.2a coin. It does, however, resemble the eplets on the 192.2 and the 197 design, (minus the two small flanking crowns), although these eplets start in the middle of the neck.

If this is a genuine piece, it sure is one heck of a mule or contemporary forgery using discarded dies?

Mud