CoinPeople.com

Help with identifying three Chinese notes?

sonician

Hello,

I am new to the board, but am hopeful someone can assist. I have been collecting for about three years, and my collection currently spans about 5 - 2.5" binders.

I have three Chinese notes I have been unable to identify, and was wondering if anyone could assist. I've included pictures of each.

#1 - Uniface Chinese Note:

CCI04122009_00004.bmp (1.0 MB)

#2 - Chinese Note:

Front: CCI04122009_00003.bmp (679 KB)

Back: CCI04122009_00000.bmp (657 KB)

#3 - Chinese Note:

Front: CCI04122009_00002.bmp (824 KB)

Back: CCI04122009_00001.bmp (842 KB)

Thanks in advance!

Welcome to the board, and thanks for posting these notes!

Unfortunately I don't read Chinese, and am not able to assist in any translation. That's a shame as I have really taken to these vertical style Chinese notes from the early 1900's. I have tried to research all my notes and came up empty most of the time. There is not a lot of information about them. I can't help a lot, but here's what I can tell you:

I actually have the last one you have posted. Yours is 000852 while mine is 000806 - only 46 numbers apart. THe seller I bought mine from had ony this information: "China Tung Shang Local 1920s - 10 Chang" It is a local currency issued by a shop of some kind.

The middle note you have is what's known as a remainder, an unissued note. There should be a serial number similarly placed as on the last note. A nice note looking note.

THe top example I believe to be a bit older. It is also likely a piece of local, unissued currency. It's value is 5 Cash, also called 5 Wen. THe symbol used in the Chinese Character where the 5 is usually found is not in any of my books, though, and I defaulted to the bottom corners.