CoinPeople.com

1798 Pavl I Petrovich Coin

guitarjock

Hello,

I am pretty new to coin collecting. When my Father died in 2001, he passed a small coin collection on to me and my sister. We split the collection by picking one at a time. I put the collection away after I had it appriased for tax purposes back in 2001. I had it appraised by a small coin shop here in Tucson, Arizona. The appraiser noticed a Russian coin that I had and told me that it was probably the most valuable coin in the collection.

Just the other day, I pulled out the collection and re-discovered the russian coin. I had always wondered what it was, but was never able to find any information on it. I decided to type some of the words into Google to see if I could find anything, and after some serious searching, i found some coins that look a little like it. The few coins like this that I found on-line sold at auctions recently for anywhere around 16,000 up to 70,000 USD. However, my coin is very worn and has a lot of toning. I am not interested in selling it, but I wonder if it is authentic or maybe a novodel. I found this site and noticed that many of you have some expertise in this area. Here are a few scans of the coin. I would appreciate it if you would let me know what you think.

scan001001-1.jpg

scan002001.jpg

Please let me know what you think.

Hello and welcome to coinpeople. :ninja:

Sorry to hear about your dad's loss, I'm sure he must have left behind quite a fair bit of interesting coins for you to learn what he used to collect.

About the ruble, I do believe it's genuine although it's very unlikely it to fetch that amount of money you quoted. I guess it is not unreasonable to ask for about 200-400usd from the prices I see on ebay but please don't quote me on that. Feel free to post any Russian related coins and you might not know what some of them may be valued at. Cheers. ;)