CoinPeople.com

Coin NEWBIE Question

Leighton

Hi, I have come up with a question I cannot find the answer to. Hopefully someone knows....

If i was to buy the 3 coins that consist to make up the Bald Eagle Set separately , and do not obtain the 3 coin mint set produced by US Mint, will i have a legitimate set or not.

I am new to coin collecting and I am curious how this all works........??

regards,

Leighton

Hi, I have come up with a question I cannot find the answer to. Hopefully someone knows....

If i was to buy the 3 coins that consist to make up the Bald Eagle Set separately , and do not obtain the 3 coin mint set produced by US Mint, will i have a legitimate set or not.

I am new to coin collecting and I am curious how this all works........??

regards,

Leighton

It really depends on what you're attempting to do. The US Mint isn't the authority on what's a set and what's not, but there are people ou there who would prefer the mint set all together. If you buy them separately to you, me, and many people on this forum you'd have the full set, but some people are very anal and would only want the coins the set as issued by the US mint. it depends on what you want to do, are you buying for your enjoyment, a gift, or to resell? For your enjoyment it is up to you. If you're buying as a gift for a coin collector, it's better to go by their tastes, but you could play it safe and buy the "set." If you're buying for resell in the future (which I wouldn't advise because of such high mintage figures) I suggest the set. I'm pretty new to the hobby so take my opinions with a grain of salt, there are much more seasoned collectors on here that will be able to offer better advice.

thanks for your thoughts......

I think that the Bald Eagle Comm. coins will become perhaps the #1 comm coins to have. I am considering obtaining all coins involved with all graded by NGC with grades of 70 only. Is this a NEWBIE mistake???

regards

Leighton

Hi Leighton, welcome to the forum.