CoinPeople.com

Bidding etiquette - when you know the competition

marianne

I was going to bid on a coin, but then realized that the high bidder is someone who has been a mentor to me. It doesn't seem right to bid against him.

It would be a more difficult decision if it I needed that coin to complete a set, or if it was rare. This is a nice example of a scarce coin in my general area of interest.

If our situations were reversed, he wouldn't recognize my auction identity and would certainly bid against me. Too bad I figured out who he was. :ninja:

Is there any standard etiquette for bidding against friends? This is likely to happen again.

i say you want it bid for it :ninja:...if it was my frnd ill beg xD lol an call him "noob" (ehh "newbie" lol its like our nickname for each other im a noob an he is 1 2 ) an we will play monopoly who wins gets it ;) (i always win ...so ill get it xD lol but the game is fun with both of us cheating ;) eheh) or ill make a deal that i buy the coin cause i need it more an he can come over an look at it when ever he wants ;) eheh , plus a bunch of other stuff...in the end illget the coin if i need it more then him ;) but if he really wants it ill let him have it or act like i want it more an buy it an then give it 2 him as a gift :D eheh

This is one of those tough calls. I'd say that you should go ahead and bid whatever your max would have been if you did not know the other bidders.

As a seller, my opinion of bidding is like voting in Chicago, bid early and bid often! As a buyer, I can see the dilemma, perhaps if it's a coin you truly want, why not talk to your mentor about it? He may feel more ambivalent than you do about it, otherwise you can just wait in the wings and see if he gets outbid, then you are free to jump in.

Is there any standard etiquette for bidding against friends? This is likely to happen again.