CoinPeople.com

please help me on "Junk Coins"

punchy

Hi all, I'm new to coins so please excuse the ignorance of my question.

I was wanting to ask some questions about so-called "junk silver". I was wanting to buy some for the silver bullion content only. How do these heavily circulated coins normally come in bulk? I'm interested in all denominations (dimes, quarters, half dollars, Morgan dollars, peace dollars, etc.). I see some advertised on the internet as bags, half bags and rolls. Can someone please educate me on which denominations come in which manner? What are the most standard ways to buy and sell each of these denominations on the marketplace? I also see that you can get them in mixed bags. Very confusing. How are these coins normally shipped using mail order? What is the best way to order them? Who has the cheapest prices? Who are some of the most reputable dealers for junk silver? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Junk silver could just easily mean damaged, worn, problematic silver coins which most people try to get rid of. They are more than happy to sell at slightly over sliver bullion value so you shouldn't really expect anything great in there. Chances are with shipping included, it kills any good bargain unless you go over to the seller's place to pick it up.

You might want to check out your nearest coin dealer if he has any junk silver that he is willing to let go.

Welcome to coinpeople by the way :ninja:

Thing about "junk" silver is there normally is a fee on buying then a fee on selling. Silver bullion will normally be spot price plus a fee on buying. And spot paid on selling. Normally they come in set dollar amounts. Such as $1,000 dollar face value bags etc.