CoinPeople.com

What are your collecting inrterests?

As a newbie, I thought I would ask, so I can get the lay of the land here.

Me? I collect US Mint Medals, Indian Peace Medals, and Betts Medals, with an emphasis on Revolutionary War medals, mainly those related to the Comitia Americana series.

There was a great book recently released on Comitia Americana medals by John W. Adams and Anne Bentley simply titled "Comitia Americana" on the spine. The book motivated me to focus on this area.

I am trying hard to put together a set of original Comitia Americana medals. Like many of us, I regret selling my bronze AU Libertas Americana medal 7 or 8 years ago for under $1000.

My collecting interests, in no particular order:

Colonial USA paper money

Scottish banknotes

Scottish coins

17th Century English Tokens

Spanish banknotes

Italian coins

Ukrainian coins and banknotes

Coins of ancient Syracuse

Coins from Thrace

Swedish Plate Money

World banknotes with attractive females

Russian banknotes and coins

Pre-decimal UK £SD

Medals from the St. Louis Exposition of 1904

Primitive money

And just about anything remotely numismatic.

i collect everything from anywhere, coins, notes, tokens, medals, phone booth tokens, transpertatoion tokens, taxtokens, Notegeld, Swiis shooting Thalers, what ever.

Scottishmoney-

Yes, I am fortunate enough to be the owner of the avatar. If you read Adams-Bentley Comitia Americana, you may have noticed the footnote on the original Howard silver awarded medal which was donated by the family to the MdHS in 1959 being a possible cast. I've seen it, and it is a cast - no question about it. I like to believe that the one I have is the awarded one, and there is some research supporting that theory, but not enough. I'm working on it!

WWI German Expressionistic art medals by Gies, Lindl, von Esseo, Eberbach, Zutt, etc. Here is an example: Das Neue Chaos