CoinPeople.com

Safely Storing Medals

Hello from a newbie here, but not to coin/medal collecting! I saw some of the nice Comitia Americana pieces displayed here, so thought I would join in.

Anyone have any great advice for storing the individual medals? I have used the 4 X 4 flips, and smaller ones for smaller medals, the 4 X 4's seem impossible to get now. I recently found that a group of about 10 Indian Peace medals I had, circa early 20th century, were thrashed by this storage. I'm not sure if it is PVC damage or what. I did find that airtight now has a 76 mm version. Anyone using those? Most of my medals are 40-50mm and 18th century vintage. I have collected for years, and have yet to come up with a great way to store the medals. My latest method is to buy polishing cloths, and to wrap them in those.

Also, anyone know where they sell nice coin cabinets for medals? I have been recently sending my medals to NGC to have them encapsulated in the large Multi-holders. It isn't cheap, but allows me to actually hand my medals to people to look at, and of course, it keeps them safe. The down side is they come back with coin grades attached to them UGH! Most medals are not intened for circulation, and to my thinking should have Proof grades.