CoinPeople.com

Fads

Cherry Picker

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

First Strike and Early Release coins.

These coins are not of any better quality and they are no more rare then any of the other coins released during the year.

Not necessarily something to avoid, but what I really don't get is buying normal CuNi coins that have been gold plated. Especially when I was furiously buying modern Greek coins, some months ago, I would see at least one or two 70s or 80s coin that were gold plated, and I think by the seller. I don't remember the Greek national bank doing that. Then again, I could be mistaken.

Now, maybe this is one of the numismatic arts I have no idea about yet... :ninja: I am quite new to this hobby. Still don't get it.

IMHO anything tombed in plastic.

Yup. They get busted out here and returned to being a coin or medal instead of product. I personally don't collect products.

Yup. They get busted out here and returned to being a coin or medal instead of product. I personally don't collect products.

I'm guessing you guys are older and more financially well-set than I am. I always disagree with statements similar to this. But we've got other threads for this debate so I'll hold my tongue here. :ninja:

I'm guessing you guys are older and more financially well-set than I am. I always disagree with statements similar to this. But we've got other threads for this debate so I'll hold my tongue here. :ninja:

lol im in the same boat!!! young and poor!!!

Hell, most coins and medals I collect have had many years of circulation or in the medals case, years of being touched...my hands arent going to hurt a coin anymore than the 50 other hands that touched it...no slabs for me either...I wanna touch the precious :ninja:

I think grading companies and slabs with acronyms and high numbers are a fad. ;)