CoinPeople.com

Rainbow toned coins

Cherry Picker

i think thats a fake cause as u can c it has spots (of rainbow colours) while others i saw that r real all look like the same colour getting lighter or darker. anyways im a rookie in toning since i only have 1 medal 1839 slightly toned an 1 unc formula 1 commerative coin thats starting to tone :ninja:.

It didn't look right to me either.! bad when you cant even fool a beginner.. :ninja:

Could write a book on different selling statagies I have seen employed on e-bay, It is comical at best.! ;)

As a newbie, I hate to buy from there.! But then again, as long as a fellow dont spend big $$, it could be the best way to learn.

Thanks,Cherry Picker

Sometimes I am thinking of starting a collection of funny selling strategies. A friend sold a coin in a horrible state on Ebay with the selling motto "Seldom to be found in this condition". What can I say... he was right. :ninja: (Obviously, he had posted good pictures which showed everyone how bad the coin looked.). ;)

It seems to me that the harsher the colors, the harsher the treatment was to obtain the colors. For instance, dipping seems pretty harsh and gets you really unnaturally vibrant colors. If I were to stick an ASE into an envelope and put it under a hot projector, the colors would be a little more blended and soft.

Could write a book on different selling statagies I have seen employed on e-bay, It is comical at best.! ;)

As a newbie, I hate to buy from there.! But then again, as long as a fellow dont spend big $$, it could be the best way to learn.

Thanks,Cherry Picker

Don't be put off. Just make sure you know what it is you're bidding for, in spite of the seller's blurb. I've picked up a couple of bargains simply because of poor pictures and ignorance on the part of the seller. But then I collect Hammered English (Plantagenet etc) so the field is open to plenty of Metal Detectorists who don't know what they've got! Long may it continue! :ninja: