CoinPeople.com

It's the little things that get you through...

slowly but surely

So I'm studying for the CA Bar exam right now. Not too fun. But I perked up a little this evening when I came across this practice question (sorry this is the most interesting thing I have to contribute right now):

QUESTION 2

Able is in the business of buying and selling rare coins. She buys coins for her inventory mostly at sales conducted by auction houses. Able uses the services of “purchasers,” who attend the sales and bid for coins to be added to her inventory. Each of the purchasers signs an agreement, the form of which is reproduced below:

PURCHASER AGREEMENT

The undersigned (“Purchaser”) agrees to act on behalf of Able (“Able”) as an independent contractor purchaser of rare coins. Purchaser shall attend sales specified by Able and bid on coins from a confidential listing supplied by Able (the “Buy List”), at a price not to exceed the amount shown on the Buy List. Purchaser shall not submit any bid until Able has given telephonic approval for the specific bid.

Purchaser shall contract in the name of Purchaser for such coins, without disclosing the identity of Able. Funds for authorized purchases shall be supplied by wire transfer upon Purchaser’s request.

Purchaser shall be compensated for travel expenses at the lesser of (i) Purchaser’s actual costs in attending such sales or (ii) a per diem of $150. Purchaser shall also receive a quarterly bonus equal to 25% of the savings effected by Purchaser on coins purchased during each quarter for less than the authorized prices set forth on the Buy List.

This arrangement may be terminated upon notice by either Purchaser or Able.