CoinPeople.com

1936 Florin

Graikos

Hello,

I bought this Florin these days and it arrived today. Now, I have little experience with silver coins, as I have bought mainly the coppers and CuNis for my collections till now. This time, and it is a first for me, the coin is actually lighter than it should be. A Florin of this type should weigh 11,3104 g. Mine brings only 11,27g to the scale. Now my question is: Is this within "healthy" limits?

In order to visualize my problem... this is the coin:

Florin.jpg

This is a scan, therefore I apologize for the quality.

I hope someone can help me out...

Well, I did check it against two 20 euro cent coins and the weight that should be 5,73 was 5,75g for one of them and 5,73 for the other. The scale is new (it also arrived today) and hopefully calibrated.

Hmmm... just checked it on a 10 euro cent which should be 4 g and it showed 4,16... Another 10 cent piece came out with 4,10. Both were from Germany. Krause gives a weight of 4.000g. Oh man... Don't you just love these days. A coin that might be a copy, a scale that might be broken, my roof let water in tonight and somebody bumped my car this afternoon. A-effing-mazing.

EDIT: According to the Bundesbank, a 10 euro cent weighs 4,10g. So Krause has it wrong there. So, it seems that the scale is fine.

Some scales can be calibrated but usually must be done at the low, high, and mid points. It might be better to return the scale and start over.

I will try to calibrate the scale tomorrow at my local chemist. My old scale and calibrating weights got lost during moving house, which wasn't tragic as it had been misused for other stuff back then. I hope my local chemist has such weights. I am not sure I can return it on just a hunch as it was bought online. :ninja:

Assuming the scale is right... could/would a difference of 0,0404 g be within "healthy" limits?