CoinPeople.com

Cleaning coins

Leighton

Hi,

First post, I am a newbie to both this forum and to coin collecting also. I have read a lot about to clean or not to clean your coins, I have decided that I prefer to clean the coins for my coin collection. I decided to start my collection with the Lincoln cent, I will also try for the first time to download a picture of some of the coins I have cleaned, I tried alot of different cleaning techniques and used alot of different cleaners and what I have decided to use is Coin Care and alot of Q Tips.

Any comments or ideas of a better way to clean...

regards,

Leighton

Cleaning your coins is like using sandpaper to rub your face and dipping your coins is like pouring hydrochloric acid to get rid of your sweat. No exaggeration about that.

I don't know where exactly you read cleaning is "good" for your coins but cleaning is generally a NO-NO. The only thing you can prevent safely is early stages of PVC damage but otherwise, cleaning is more likely to be expensive as well as ruining the value of your coins.

Cleaning your coins is like using sandpaper to rub your face and dipping your coins is like pouring hydrochloric acid to get rid of your sweat.

Hmm... my dermatologist told me those methods weren't good for me too but what does he know?! :ninja:

The closest thing I do to cleaning is using my cotton gloves to wipe off a fresh fingerprint put on a glowing new SQ by the greasy little brats at the skating rink. (Okay, you caught me, I once rinsed the dirt off a 10 Franc piece I found near a dumpster...)

For school many years ago, we did the "fold Lincoln cents in paper towels dipped in water, lemon juice, vinegar, etc." experiment and wow, do those coins look unnatural. In my opinion, the natural progression from glowing to dull is much nicer to look at.

Any comments or ideas of a better way to clean.regards,Leighton

Hi newbie...

Coming from a sort of newbie...