CoinPeople.com

Hi 'Guys' I need your opinion, on purchasing a coin.

Firefighter23

Hi I am pretty new to coins and I wound up base-ing my collection around colorized coins. Right now I have 10 state quarters, 1 - 9/11 silver eagle, 1 colored eagle, and one gold plated- colored eagle. I'm pretty much going for the colorized eagles! But any way I want to purchase one of the new holographic coins but i just cant decide which one looks the best? I'm hoping some of you out there can help me decide and why!! Here they are-->

goldholoflag6.jpg

They may look nice to you. But any time they are painted it pretty much freezes the value at spot price for the metal. Since you are just beginning I would suggest looking over some of the collections people have here and see if any of the types attracts you. To me a nicely struck original coin really can't be improved on.

917590.jpg

There is basically NO secondary market for painted or altered coinage. At least NOT among coin collectors. Quite honestly it is a hyped market full of false advertising but I don't want you to take my word on it. Try and sell a colored coin to a coin dealer for anything more than actual silver melt value, if the coin is indeed real silver, as a great number are replicas and silver or gold plated.

If you enjoy collecting such items I would never try to deter you from your interests as I am a firm believer in "to each his own" and if it makes you happy, then go for it. But if you are collecting for a future value, which all collectors tend to focus on, then you should turn your attention to real coins in as high a grade that you can comfortably afford to collect. Good luck with your endeavors regardless of what you decide as in the end you are the only one you have to please with your collecting habits.