Jump to content

Three New Members Appointed to Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee


Recommended Posts

WASHINGTON – The United States Mint today announced that the Secretary of the Treasury has appointed three new members to the Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee (CCAC). The CCAC advises the Secretary on theme and design proposals relating to circulating coinage, bullion coinage, Congressional Gold Medals, and other medals produced by the United States Mint.


The CCAC also makes commemorative coin recommendations to the Secretary and advises on the events, persons, or places to be commemorated, as well as on the mintage levels and proposed designs.


Four of the 11 CCAC member positions are appointed by the Secretary of the Treasury based on the recommendations of the Congressional leadership. The Secretary appoints the seven remaining positions through an open application process.


Gary Marks was selected through public outreach as one of three CCAC members appointed to represent the interests of the General Public. His four-year term on the CCAC will expire in March 2011.


Currently, the City Manager of Whitefish, Montana, Mr. Marks has worked in city government for nearly 20 years, and also served as a Commissioner of the Montana Quarter Design Selection Committee. A dedicated numismatist for 33 years, he also served as Executive Director of the Whitefish Centennial Medallion Commission. An expert collector of Washington Quarters, Barber Half Dollars and Walking Liberty Half-Dollars, he holds a B.A. in Human Resource Management from George Fox College in Newberg, Oregon.


Mr. Michael Brown was appointed based on the recommendation of Senator Harry Reid in his capacity as then-Senate Minority Leader. Mr. Brown’s four-year term on the CCAC will expire in March 2011.


Mr. Brown is Vice President of Public Affairs for Barrick Gold Corporation. He served as Special Assistant to former United States Mint Director Donna Pope from 1981 to 1989, and prior to that served as Vice President of the Gold and Silver Institute in Washington, D.C. Mr. Brown holds a B.S. degree from Ohio State University and an MBA from George Washington University.


The Reverend Dr. Richard J. Meier was appointed based on the recommendation of Representative Dennis Hastert in his capacity as then-Speaker of the House. Reverend Meier’s four-year term on the CCAC will expire in December 2010.


Currently serving as Pastor of the Alpine Lutheran Church in Rockford, Illinois, Reverend Meier’s 36-year career has included missionary work in Argentina, and church work from California to Florida. An avid collector, Reverend Meier was introduced to the numismatic hobby as a child by his grandfather, who gave him an 1899 Morgan Silver Dollar. Reverend Meier holds a B.A. from Augustana College, a Master of Divinity from the Lutheran School of Theology in Chicago, and a Doctor of Ministry from Luther Seminary in St. Paul, Minnesota.


The CCAC was established by an Act of Congress in 2003. The CCAC submits an annual report to Congress and the Secretary describing its activities and providing recommendations. The CCAC is subject to the authority of the Secretary. The United States Mint is responsible for providing necessary and appropriate administrative support, technical services and advice. The next CCAC meeting is scheduled for May 15, 2007.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...