CoinPeople.com

Looking to buy some silver dollars... tips?

TreasureGirl

Not looking for an Internet deal (no offense guys, but I have no experience with that and want to see the coin in person before committing to a buy), but I was just wondering what to look for/be warned of when purchasing coins like Morgan, Barber, or Peace dollars. Since I'm just a poor college kid, I'm just looking for types - preferably relatively low wear and common dates - my collection is sadly without a single silver dollar.

Mostly, I just want to make an informed purchase since I've never spent more than $10 on a single coin. Thanks everyone!

There are a lot of common date Morgan and Peace dollars available that have great eye appeal. You can find an AU/BU common dollar for just a bit over melt. (By the way there are Morgan Dollars and Peace Dollars but no Barber dollars). Any reputable dealer will have a number of coins for you to choose from. If you have a local coin club, they usually have a sale or auction and this can be a great place to find decent coins. Most of the people are happy to help a newcomer with advice and to make sure that your purchases match your desires.

Good luck.

By the way, most CoinPeeps will offer you a generous return policy on anything you purchase from them.

I would look for a Peace dollar first, you can find loads of BU common dates (1922, 23, 24, 25) for likely less than $20. Watch for hairlines or signs of cleaning, and look at as many as you can before laying out your cash. After you get the experience with the Peace, you can use the same process with a Morgan, but just be careful since there are far more cleaned and problem Morgans out there than Peace dollars in my opinion, which is why I suggest starting on the latter to gain experience and build your confidence.

So, how are some ways to recognize cleaning? I'm beginning to wonder if some of my previous purchases (a 1953 Franklin and a 1964 Kennedy) were marked down due to cleaning, now.