CoinPeople.com

Some Comments on "Specimen" from a Minting Perspective

rittenhouse

I read with interest the thread on Specimen Strike in Russian Numismatics. As some may be aware, I'm a former process engineer and minting technology is a field I've studied and written about for the past 20 years or so.

IMHO, "Specimen Strike" is tough to define since it's largely a made-up term applied for marketing purposes by the TPGs.

After seeing this term come into more and more use with the rise of TPGs, I think it's fairly apparent that "specimen" really means "this coin is so nicely struck and so much better looking than even the really nice pieces or its type that it MUST have been a specimen so we'll call it a specimen based on that". Furthermore, while coins were certainly struck as "specimens" for collectors and dignitaries, IMHO they are impossible to identify unless accompanied by documentation proving provenance.

Some have suggested that "specimens" were manufactured by a different process. While there MAY be a process for modern specimen strikes (i.e., post-1945 or so) I can say that thus far I have uncovered absolutely no historical documentation supporting this supposition for earlier coinage. Thus far, the historical record only documents the processes for business strike and proof strike coinage.

As to the question of how "specimen strikes" could have been made, I can only offer my best guess based on my personal experience in the stamping industry along with the experience of some friends in the private minting business. The conclusion we've come to is that "specimen strikes" were hand-selected pieces, probably from a special run of coinage. Essentially the mint would produce X coins on its best presses using the best planchets and then hand select the best out of the run. The rest could be scrapped or thrown in with "regular production". The dies probably were fresh dies possibly with a bit of extra polishing.