CoinPeople.com

Total newbie question! Help me if you can.

Nora1999

I just started collecting coins very recently. I live in a small town north of Houston, Texas and there's no coin shop for miles. I started out buying a few coins on eBay and Littleton Coin. I'm sort of a general US coin collector I guess...though I'm starting to favor Morgan dollars and 20th century pennies.

I bought a lot of 10 mixed, slabbed coins on eBay as one of my first purchases, which I purchased for around $65, I think. It is a pretty varied assortment of US coins. About the same time I bought a nice software program to organize my slowly growing coin collection.

The software program, Coin Manage by Liberty Street, assigns coin values when you inventory a coin. It's a great program, I think (though I have nothing to compare it to) - however, I'm not sure where they get their data - how they come up with assigning coin values.

I was stunned when one of the slabbed coins, a 1999D Connecticut described as "MS69", was assigned by the software program as having a "value" of $6,500. I noticed the seller had scribbled 6500 in sharpie pen on the back of the slab, too, so this figure must be legitimate (?)

Then I came across a 1999P Delaware state quarter in the same lot, with a stated condition of MS69. This one was assigned a "value" of $7,500, and sure enough, when I turned the slab over, the seller had scribbled this number too on the back of the slab in Sharpie.

OK...this just isn't sitting well with me. These are very recent coins. MILLIONS upon millions of them were minted, I want to say over 800 million. And so this is my million dollar question. WHERE DO THESE VALUES COME FROM? Does some guy just pick this number out of the air? HOW could this (what I would think) VERY COMMON quarter, be "worth" more than my car? And more than, say, a good condition 1909 S VDB penny?