CoinPeople.com

New guy

Angelking

Hi everyone, I am new to coin collecting. I have always been fascinated by Russian coins. It seems the more I read, there seems to be a huge problem with fakes. Is there a website or book you would recommend on Russian coins that could help me learn to differentiate between fake and real Russian coins? Seems there are a lot of fakes on ebay, but to me they look totally real.

Thanks

AK

Hi everyone, I am new to coin collecting. I have always been fascinated by Russian coins. It seems the more I read, there seems to be a huge problem with fakes. Is there a website or book you would recommend on Russian coins that could help me learn to differentiate between fake and real Russian coins. Seems there are a lot of fakes on ebay, but to me they look totally real.

Welcome to coinpeople, Angelking! :ninja:

Fake coins can be a problem in some areas. It has nothing specifically to do with Russian coins; all rare coins are subject to being faked. But what makes it difficult is that there is an enormous number of varieties of most Russian coin types. New ones are being discovered almost every day, it seems. Some fakes are easily spotted. For others, such as platinum coins, you need to be an expert and perhaps also have access to special tools in order to catch them. It is often impossible to determine from the pictures on eBay if a coin is fake or genuine. For example, there is a discussion thread here about a gold 10 rouble coin which looks completely genuine, but the edge shows the wrong mintmaster for the year (1899). The weight is also a little off, but just barely (8.4 grams instead of 8.6). Most sellers don't bother to provide pictures of the edge of a coin.