CoinPeople.com

Peter I 1721 ruble

BKB

To tell you the truth I did not. But edge variation for that period are not considered very collectable. I have a rouble of 1721 which has an unlisted edge for that year. The coin itself is R1 in Bitkin. But the condition is wanting. Thus, I decided to post this one. The 1724 I posted is even more fun :ninja:

I have been collecting russian coins for 20 years now. But, I lost my first collection in 1994. Then I was not very active for 3-4 years. Buying a couple of coins a year. Now I am back and for about 3 years I am actively collecting again.

As for this rouble -- its problem is that it is a common coin. Yes it is nice, ex. Soderman, but not very exciting. I myself like copper better. To find a copper coin in such condition, now that is a real prize.

Now you see why I emphasis a bit too much on the edging, is not only because of the different varities of the edging style, but you will never know if it might be a previous European planchet used for such striking. In recent Dimitri Markov auctions, he auctioned some unique overstriked coins, which is quite interesting.

In recent Dimitri Markov auctions, he auctioned some unique overstriked coins, which is quite interesting.

If you are talking about lot #1119, then you are up for a big surprise -- the description in the catalog was BS. I was there and I saw the coin. It probably had a damaged edge, and then some moron made a new edge by hand. It is my opinion of course, and it is not beyond contestation. :lol: But if you look at the picture in the catalog, you will see rim dings going around the whole circumference of the coin. Those are the marks of hand-punching.