CoinPeople.com

Lacquer on old coins

bobh

I recently bought a 5 kopek Russian coin, era of Catherine the Great, on eBay. It looked like it had been cleaned a long tme ago judging from the pictures, but it had retoned and looked rather attractive. Also, it went cheaply, so it didn't bother me too much.

Anyway, when I received the coin, I was surprised to find that it had some kind of slick protective coating which I assume is some kind of lacquer. I had heard that a long, long time ago, collectors used to do this quite routinely in order to preserve the nicer coins.

Is there any way to remove this safely? It is copper, of course, and I have had some bad experiences with acetone and copper (never with silver, though).

You can see pictures of it here. Thanks! :ninja:

I read that cleaning and lacquer were very normal procedure

I seem to remember up to the 1970's

They sell a lacquer removal product ( expensive of course )

I would leave the lacquer on or sell the coin because if you had bad experience with acetone I do not believe there is a safer solvent

Thanks, everyone, for your kind advice! Of course, this coin isn't really worth doing anything about -- I wouldn't have bought it except that I have done business many times before with this seller, and each time I was happy with the outcome. So maybe I should have looked a little closer at the pictures! (OTOH, it would be an excellent candidate for some kind of crazy experiment ... heh, heh, heh ... :ninja: )!

I have some coins that have been lacquered...

Do you have any pictures of your lacquered coins? I would be very interested to see them!

Here are two that I can remember off hand - there should be more but I can't quite remember what they are at the moment, or rather, too lazy to photograph them. :ninja:

Portugal 1920 2 centavos. (thanks to Jose)

909535.jpg

Pretty coin, and the lacquer is there to preserve the underlying redness I guess. :lol:

Russia 1812 SPB 2 kopeks

911520.jpg