CoinPeople.com

Constantine I

syzygy

Recently, I gave my favorite Constantine I to some friends as part os a wedding gift. I printed up a nice little pamphlet to go with the coin based upon my own research and thought you guys might enjoy checking it out also. Those who don't know much about these ancients, may find the narrative interesting. While I have a lot of interest in late Roman Empire coinage, I am by no means an expert. So, the many, with more knowledge on the subject, may be able to make corrections and additions.

c013jpg2px.jpg

AD 306-337, Bronze follies, 23 mm.

Constantine I

The emperor Constantine has rightly been called the most important emperor of Late Antiquity. His powerful personality laid the foundations of post-classical European civilization; his reign was eventful and highly dramatic. His victory at the Milvian Bridge counts among the most decisive moments in world history, while his legalization and support of Christianity and his foundation of a 'New Rome' at Byzantium rank among the most momentous decisions ever made by a European ruler. The fact that ten Byzantine emperors after him bore his name may be seen as a measure of his importance and of the esteem in which he was held. (from http://www.roman-emperors.org)

Yes, it’s real. The Romans were particularly proficient at coinage and many examples have survived. Individuals have painstakingly researched and cataloged varieties. Authenticity is supported when a specimen, such as this one can be found in significant numbers and cataloged. For a coin from this era, refer to RIC (Roman Imperial Coinage). I want, but do not yet have any of the RIC volumes, but Volume 6, p519, 61b should be a close match. Reference works by Sears and others have also cataloged this type.